Airmen with custody preparations are stationed close to their youngsters each time attainable

The Air Force said Wednesday that if possible, it will deploy airmen and aerospace professionals with custody orders near their children.

Service members can also request that their duties be postponed if the move would take them away from their children, the Air Force said. Child custody has not been taken into account in assignments.

“We know that family dynamics are not always the same and that there is no one-size-fits-all solution to managing people’s careers and roles,” said Lt. Gen. Brian T. Kelly, Air Force chief of staff. “We ask our employees to move frequently, and we know that doing so can create additional stress and sacrifice for their families. This change gives us the flexibility we need to take better care of them. “

From August 17th, service members can apply for abandonment or postponement near their children via myPers.

The change applies to both parents of birth children and adopted children. Service members must be named as parents and have a judicial custody arrangement to request postponement or duty near their children, the Air Force said.

However, the change does not give the aviators full authority to veto an order. The Air Force said matchmaking games will be conducted when possible and must meet the Air Force’s best needs. However, the Air Force said it will try to accommodate the Airmen’s custody situations unless they have no other option for a particular assignment.

“This is one we’ve been working on for a while and I’m glad we got it over the finish line,” Air Force Chief Master Sergeant Kaleth Wright said in the press release. “This Air Force life is a family business. Therefore, we owe it to our teammates to ensure they have every opportunity to keep their family together whenever possible. “

Sign up for the Air Force Times daily recap

Don’t miss the top Air Force stories delivered each afternoon

(please select country) United States United Kingdom Afghanistan Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, Democratic Republic of the Cook Islands Costa Rica Ivory Coast Croatia Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada G. uadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Belonged to the island and the Mcdonald Islands Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Republic of Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Democratic People’s Republic of Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arabs Jamahiriya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mozambique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia, Morocco, Federated States of Montenegro, Montserrat Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands Netherlands Antilles New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Palestinian Territory, B Last Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitca irn Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar See you again Romania Russian Federation Rwanda St. Helena St. Kitts and Nevis St. Lucia St. Pierre and Miquelon St. Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi- Arabia Senegal Serbia and Montenegro Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan, Province China Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Smaller remote islands Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands, British Virgin Islands, US Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe

Subscribe to


Airmen must continue to meet crew requirements, complete the duties they were trained to do, and meet any requirements to be eligible for permanent relocation without waiver, the Air Force said.

Comments are closed.